Frequently Asked
QUESTIONS

General Driving School Questions

When will all of your services be available?

Currently, we are offering classes for Driver’s Education at our Lavonia Location, and DUI School (also known as DUI/Risk Reduction Program) at both our Lavonia and Athens Locations.

How frequently will classes be offered?

We offer our classes monthly. Our complete class schedule is available on our Class Schedule.

What should I bring with me to class?

Just bring yourself. All materials will be provided by us.

What forms of payment are accepted?

Cash, money orders, Visa, MasterCard and Discover are all acceptable forms of payment. We DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS.

Do you allow refunds?

We do not allow refunds but will let you reschedule your course to another date but only ONE time.

Drivers Education Questions

What is Joshua’s Law?

Joshua’s Law is a new state requirement for teen drivers that started January 1, 2007. It states that if you are 16 years old, you must complete a driver’s education course approved by the Department of Driver Services in order to receive a Class D license. Individuals who do not complete an approved Driver’s Education Course must wait until age 17 to become licensed.

Do the same rules apply if my child is seventeen years old?

No, but he or she must have 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 of which must be at night.

What if my child just moved to the state of Georgia?

Any 16-year-old must take an approved Driver’s Education Course in order to be issued a license in Georgia. If your child has taken a course out of state, please contact the Department of Driver Services.

Where does my child go for lunch during the 30 hour course?

We have a 1 hour lunch break from 12-1 on Saturdays and 4-5 on Sundays. Most students purchase vending items, bring lunch with them or their parents pick them up for the hour long break.

Can my child bring a lunch?

Yes, we do also have a refrigerator and freezer which they can use to store their lunch or snacks. Also, we do have full service vending for drinks and snacks during class.

Can my teen miss one day of Driver’s Ed?

Every teen must complete ALL 30 hours of Driver’s Ed, but they are allowed to make up missed sessions. All missed sessions must be made up within 60 days of the first day of class. Keep in mind, during the summertime most of classes do fill up and please let us know ASAP regarding any potential missed sessions.

DUI School Questions

Who is required to take this course?

This course is required for those who have received a DUI, BUI, charge of illegal drug possession, or similar related offense. It focuses on changing the actual drinking and drug use behavior of the individual.

Can I take this course online?

No, the Department of Driver Services requires that this course be taken by classroom instruction at a certified school for the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program.

How far in advance must I sign up for this class & when are the fees due?

We recommended that you sign up 1 to 5 days in advance for the class you would like to attend. To sign up for a class, you will need to contact us via the contact form on the right or via phone at 706-549-1410 to schedule the Needs Assessment appointment. The Needs Assessment can take place as late as the day before the scheduled class you would like to complete and it is at this time that the full course fees are due. Please call for further details.

What is the Needs Assessment?

The Needs Assessment is a 130 question survey that must be filled out at least one day in advance of the first class; however, it is recommended that you come to the school from 1 to 5 days prior to your scheduled class to finish the survey.

How long will it take to complete the Needs Assessment?

On average, the Needs Assessment takes about 30 – 45 minutes to complete.

What if I need to cancel or reschedule my enrollment in this class?

Once a payment is received, we will allow you to move into another week’s class; however, due to the 5 student minimum, we ask that you let us know as far in advance as possible.

Do I need to prepare for the first class?

No preparation is needed. It is required, however, that you come into the school before the first class to take the Needs Assessment.

What if I lose my “Certificate of Completion”?

You can contact our school and request a replacement “Certificate of Completion”. A $10.00 fee will be charged for a replacement certificate.



Testimonials

The instructor was very professional and kind. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose 1st Choice.

Danny M.

READ MORE ➨